Federal derecho assistance deadline extended to Nov. 2


DES MOINES — Survivors from the Iowa Aug. 10 derecho have more time to register for federal assistance. The deadline for survivors has been extended through Monday, Nov. 2.

FEMA has approved more than $8.5 million in Individual Assistance grants for 2,278 households. The Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved more than $14 million in disaster loans for homeowners, renters, and small businesses.

Assistance provided by FEMA for homeowners can include grants for repairs to make their primary home habitable. Rental assistance is available to pay for temporary housing for homeowners and renters. Lodging expense reimbursement may be available to eligible households who may have stayed in a hotel for a short period of time.

First, if you haven’t already done so, contact your insurance company and file a claim for the disaster-caused damage you’ve suffered. You don’t have to wait for FEMA to start cleaning up. Be sure to take photographs or video of the damage, and keep all receipts for repair work.

If you have losses not covered by insurance, contact FEMA by either going online to DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling the helpline at 800-621-3362.

Applicants will need the following to apply:

* Address of the damaged property

* Description of disaster-caused damage and losses

* Current mailing address

* Current telephone number

* Social Security number of one member of the household

* Insurance information

* Total household annual income

* Bank account routing and account number for direct deposit

* Save your FEMA registration number, also known as FEMA ID number.

* Check your DisasterAssistance.gov account for updates.

This is for residents of the Iowa counties of Benton, Boone, Cedar, Clinton, Jasper, Linn, Marshall, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Story and Tama.