Eastern Iowa Light & Power awards $21,000 in college scholarships


Each year, Eastern Iowa Light & Power Cooperative awards one year, $1,000 college scholarships to 15 area high school seniors who plan to attend a four-year college or university, and five $1,000 one-year college scholarships to area high school seniors who plan to attend a trade or technical school.

The Cooperative also awards a special one year, $1,000 scholarship. The “Bob Wiemerslage Memorial Scholarship” is awarded to a student planning to major in accounting. Wiemerslage was the Cooperative’s division manager of accounting until December, 2019.

Neveah Hildebrandt, daughter of Terry Hildebrandt of Sabula is the recipient of the 2021 $1,000 “Bob Wiemerslage Memorial Scholarship.”

The 2021 Cooperative college/university $1,000 scholarship winners are Connor Becker, son of Khristian and Kristi Becker of Maquoketa; Nolan Holdgrafer, son of Eric and Lisa Holdgrafer of Miles; Abigail Lippens, daughter of Jamie and Amy Lippens of DeWitt; Janey Gingerich, daughter of Patrick and Tonya Gingerich of West Liberty; Kenni Hawkins, daughter of DJ and Karey Hawkins of Muscatine; Isabel Morrison, daughter of Chad and Brooke Morrison of Atalissa; Jordan Barker, daughter of Kevin and Kari Barker of Wilton; Brady ONeil, son of Shawn and Jennifer ONeil of Blue Grass; Nicholas Petersen, son of Joseph and Jennifer Petersen of Muscatine; Isaac Black, son of Chris and Tara Black of Ainsworth; Jobie Lekwa, daughter of Jeff Lekwa and Joy Lekwa of Columbus Jct.; Ashley Yedlik, daughter of Joel and Mary Ellen Yedlik of Lone Tree; Neil Frank, son of Brent and Bethany Frank of Oakville; Avery Maeder, daughter of Jeff and Linda Maeder of Columbus Junction, and Courtney Matthews, daughter of David and Rebecca Matthews of Wapello.

The 2021 $1,000 Cooperative trade school scholarship winners are Ethan Wilhelm, son of Adam and Rebecca Wilhelm of Calamus; Phelan Hostetler, daughter of Michelle and Clint Shalla and Keith Hostetler of Kalona; Madisyn Gerdts, daughter of Christopher and Carrie Gerdts of Muscatine; Allison Kuntz, daughter of Trent and Laura Kuntz of Oakville; and Mason McGhee, son of Jeff and Jenny McGhee of Sperry.

This is the 35th group of Eastern Iowa REC scholarship winners. The Cooperative has awarded scholarships to 399 students since the program started in 1987. This means $355,500 in scholarship funds has been distributed to students representing 50 different communities.