Comet volleyball trio named to Elite River Valley Conference team

Seven West Liberty girls earn honors on conference teams


A total of seven Comets off the West Liberty High School volleyball team were named to the 2020 River Valley Conference Volleyball All-Conference Teams, it was learned this week by the Index.

Three Comets made the Elite squad including senior Martha Pace, junior Macy Daufeldt and Libero Monica Morales after the team claimed the River Valley Conference Tournament title. The team gave up the regular season conference title to Wilton, the team they beat in the finals of the tournament, after the Beavers shut out West Liberty in their regular season showdown.

Wilton was the only other team to place three girls on the Elite conference team including junior setter Ella Caffery, and classmates Kelsey Drake and Carly Puffer.

Also making the elite team was West Branch senior Lexi Peak, Monticello senior Tori McDonald, Cascade senior Brooke Denniston, Anamosa senior Kylie Chapman, Iowa City Regina senior Annie Gahan and Camanche senior Maci Sloane.

West Liberty also placed sophomore setter Brooklyn Buysse on the River Valley South Division all-conference team along with seniors Averi Goodale and Isabel Morrison.

Comet coach Ruben Galvan, who guided the West Liberty team to a 26-7 season mark and coached the team one game away from getting into the state finals, was named the South Division Coach of the Year.

Other members of the South Division Team included Wilton Libero Mallory Lange and Junior Alexa Garvin along with West Branch senior Nicki Henson, junior Lexi Klinkkammer and sophomore Iva Senio. Regina also placed two players on the division team including juniors Lily Simpson and Alli Dillon while Mid-Prairie senior Tori Boyse also made the team as did Tipton senior Kelley Lieser.

West Liberty sophomore Rylee Goodale also made the honorable mention squad for the conference.